Poole Law Center

Refugee Admission Program Resumes With Enhanced Vetting

The refugee admission program resumes today, but with enhanced vetting. Additional biometrics information will be collected for all applicants. Additionally, during a 90-day review period, applicants from eleven countries (not published) will only be admitted if their admission is deemed to be in the national interest and poses no threat to the security and welfare of the United States. The 11 countries are countries previously flagged for an interagency process called security advisory opinions (SAOs). It is assumed, based on previous countries flagged for SAOs, that the 11 countries are: Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.


In September, the Department of Homeland Security confirmed that the cap on refugee admissions to the US will be reduced to 45,000 for fiscal year 2018, the lowest number since the Refugee Act began in 1980. The 45,000 ceiling includes regional caps of 19,000 for Africa, 17,500 for the Near East and South Asia, 5,000 for East Asia, 2,000 for Europe and Central Asia, and 1,500 for Latin America and the Caribbean.


For more information about resettlement, visit this link from the UN Refugee Agency:


And this visualization of resettlement from Carnegie Mellon University’s CREATE Lab: